I am having a lot of problems trying to find a bot that can deliver a newsletter for our Novels Project. There is a list of bots on Wikipedia:WikiProject_Council/Newsletters but from looking at them, they seem all inactive and some have outstanding newsletters sitting still unsended for quite awhile. I have been moving the request to different bots to try and find one that is active but without success. If anyone has details of a active bot for newsletter deliveries can they post here. Boylo (talk) 02:58, 9 September 2008 (UTC)
Thanks i have tried a few of those but found them inactive for some time. MiszaBot has no details of how to lodge a newsletter so not sure how to do it. Boylo (talk) 03:34, 9 September 2008 (UTC)
ENewsBot and Newsletterbot, i found both later after trying them to be inactive for some period of time and many other listed appeared the same. Luckily the owner of TinucherianBot contacted me and i finally got the newsletter delivered, a good service and fast service which was greatly appreciated. Thanks for the help. Boylo (talk) 09:26, 11 September 2008 (UTC)
The bot i used last time TinucherianBot now has it posted that the user is away on holidays. If anyone has a active bot for Project newsletters can they let me know as our October newsletter is ready for delivery. Thx Boylo (talk) 02:22, 4 October 2008 (UTC)
I've left a note at Wikipedia talk:WikiProject Video games, which is the obvious parent project. They're much more likely to have an opinion on the subject than members of unrelated WikiProjects. WhatamIdoing (talk) 17:58, 12 September 2008 (UTC)
A featured article exemplifies our very best work and features professional standards of writing and presentation. In addition to meeting the requirements for all Wikipedia articles, it has the following attributes.
It is—
(a) well-written: its prose is engaging, even brilliant, and of a professional standard;
(b) comprehensive: it neglects no major facts or details;
(c) factually accurate: claims are verifiable against reliable sources, accurately represent the relevant body of published knowledge, and are supported with specific evidence and external citations; this requires a "References" section in which sources are listed, complemented by inline citations where appropriate;
(e) stable: it is not subject to ongoing edit wars and its content does not change significantly from day to day, except in response to the featured article process.
(a) a lead—a concise lead section that summarizes the topic and prepares the reader for the detail in the subsequent sections;
(b) appropriate structure—a system of hierarchical headings and a substantial but not overwhelming table of contents (see section help); and
(c) consistent citations—where required by Criterion 1c, consistently formatted inline citations using either footnotes[1] or Harvard referencing (Smith 2007, p. 1) (see citing sources for suggestions on formatting references; for articles with footnotes, the meta:cite format is recommended).
Length. It stays focused on the main topic without going into unnecessary detail (see summary style).
Professional, outstanding, and thorough; a definitive source for encyclopedic information.
No further content additions should be necessary unless new information becomes available; further improvements to the prose quality are often possible.
Prose. It features professional standards of writing.
Lead. It has an engaging lead section that introduces the subject, and defines the scope and inclusion criteria of the list.
Comprehensiveness. It comprehensively covers the defined scope, providing a complete set of items where practical, or otherwise at least all of the major items; where appropriate, it has annotations that provide useful and appropriate information about entries.
Structure. It is easy to navigate, and includes—where helpful—section headings and table sort facilities.
Style. It complies with the Manual of Style and its supplementary pages.
Visual appeal. It makes suitable use of text layout, formatting, tables, and colour; it has images if they are appropriate to the subject, with succinct captions or "alt" text; and it has a minimal proportion of red links.
Stability. It is not the subject of ongoing edit wars and its content does not change significantly from day to day, except in response to the featured list process.
The article is well organized and is essentially complete, having been reviewed by impartial reviewers from a WikiProject or elsewhere, as described here.
More detailed criteria
Provides a well-written, clear and complete description of the topic, as described in Wikipedia:How to write a great article. It should be of a length suitable for the subject, appropriately structured, and be well referenced by a broad array of reliable sources. It should be well illustrated, with no copyright problems. Only minor style issues and other details need to be addressed before submission as a featured article candidate. See the A-Class assessment departments of some of the larger WikiProjects (e.g. WikiProject Military history, WikiProject Films).
Very useful to readers. A fairly complete treatment of the subject. A non-expert in the subject matter would typically find nothing wanting.
Expert knowledge may be needed to tweak the article, and style issues may need addressing. Peer-review may help.
(a) it provides references to all sources of information, and at minimum contains a section dedicated to the attribution of those sources in accordance with the guide to layout;
(b) at minimum, it provides in-line citations from reliable sources for direct quotations, statistics, published opinion, counter-intuitive or controversial statements that are challenged or likely to be challenged, and contentious material relating to living persons; and
Useful to nearly all readers, with no obvious problems; approaching (although not equalling) the quality of a professional encyclopedia.
Some editing by subject and style experts is helpful; comparison with an existing featured article on a similar topic may highlight areas where content is weak or missing.
The article is mostly complete and without major issues, but requires some further work to reach Good Article standards. B-Class articles should meet the six B-Class criteria:
The article reasonably covers the topic, and does not contain obvious omissions or inaccuracies. It contains a large proportion of the material necessary for an A-Class article, although some sections may need expansion, and some less important topics may be missing.
The article has a defined structure. Content should be organized into groups of related material, including a lead section and all the sections that can reasonably be included in an article of its kind.
The article is reasonably well written. The prose contains no major grammatical errors and flows sensibly, but it certainly need not be "brilliant". The Manual of Style need not be followed rigorously.
The article contains supporting materials where appropriate. Illustrations are encouraged, though not required. Diagrams and an infobox etc. should be included where they are relevant and useful to the content.
No reader should be left wanting, although the content may not be complete enough to satisfy a serious student or researcher.
A few aspects of content and style need to be addressed, and expert knowledge is increasingly needed. The inclusion of supporting materials should also be considered if practical, and the article checked for general compliance with the manual of style and related style guidelines.
The article is substantial, but is still missing important content or contains a lot of irrelevant material. The article should have some references to reliable sources, but may still have significant issues or require substantial cleanup.
More detailed criteria
The article is better developed in style, structure and quality than Start-Class, but fails one or more of the criteria for B-Class. It may have some gaps or missing elements; need editing for clarity, balance or flow; or contain policy violations such as bias or original research. Articles on fictional topics are likely to be marked as C-Class if they are written from an in-universe perspective.
Useful to a casual reader, but would not provide a complete picture for even a moderately detailed study.
Considerable editing is needed to close gaps in content and address cleanup issues.
An article that is developing, but which is quite incomplete and, most notably, lacks adequate reliable sources.
More detailed criteria
The article has a usable amount of good content, but it is weak in many areas, usually in referencing. Quality of the prose may be distinctly unencyclopedic, and MoS compliance non-existent; but the article should satisfy fundamental content policies such as notability and BLP, and provide enough sources to establish verifiability. No Start-Class article should be in any danger of being speedily deleted.
Provides some meaningful content, but the majority of readers will need more.
Provision of references to reliable sources should be prioritised; the article will also need substantial improvements in content and organisation.
The article is either a very short article or a rough collection of information that will need much work to become a meaningful article. It is usually very short, but can be of any length if the material is irrelevant or incomprehensible.
Provides very little meaningful content; may be little more than a dictionary definition
Any editing or additional material can be helpful. The provision of meaningful content should be a priority.
As you can see from this, almost all grades are added on what type of article it is or the quality of the article. However, a major grade list missing that has been added to the assessment - List-rated articles, obviously articles that are lists. So shouldn't this be added? If so, what should be put? Simply south (talk) 22:16, 13 September 2008 (UTC)
List is there, you just have to call it. • 17:49, 14 November 2008 (UTC)
Merging projects
Can someone point me to a page on how to merge two projects? I haven't been able to find one. Thanks and regards. --Kleinzach 06:25, 22 September 2008 (UTC)
Thanks. I'm familiar with article merging, but project merging involves a whole set of pages, archives, cats etc. I suppose one method might be to make the (merged) project into a subpage of the (parent) project but I don't want to make a mess of this doing the wrong thing. --Kleinzach 10:04, 22 September 2008 (UTC)
erm, which two projects are we talking about? Well, can set up a discussion as per the merge page, then, say, mark the daughter project as inactive and mark all its pages as 'in recess' or something. Are there any active members anyway? Cheers, Casliber (talk·contribs) 11:47, 22 September 2008 (UTC)
I have just added a new entry to the WikiProject automation directory: ArticleAlertbot can notify projects when their articles are nominated for AfD, as featured article candidates, for RFC, and more of such workflows. This could for example enhance the sorting of deletion debates considerably. See User:B. Wolterding/Article alerts for more information. --B. Wolterding (talk) 21:45, 14 November 2008 (UTC)